新城镇化联合委员会

中国一直不断的忙于建造面子工程式的高楼大厦,汽车行驶的大宽马路,以及各类工业工厂。但老百姓需要的,以人为本的城市在哪里?

About the Program

中国高速的城镇化推进过程中,带来了一系列割裂的发展。中国一直不断的为各类面子工程建造摩天大楼,为汽车修建高速公路,为工业发展搭建工厂。而下一阶段的城镇化进程,需要更全面和更完善的城市规划水平,以吸引和留住城市发展所需的最优秀的人才。新城镇化联合委员会成立于2014年11月7日的中国城市计划峰会上,由同济大学的吴志强博士,土人设计的俞孔坚博士, 澳大利亚联实集团中国区总裁聂耀中先生, 以及聚思主席刘佩琪女士共同担任联合主席。 新城镇化联合委员会将联合国家行政学院的专家一起撰写政策建议的研究报告, 为推进中国生态宜居城市建设提供一系列方针政策建议,并向上递交.

 

 

 

 

正是在城镇化的推动下,中国文化和经济发生了根本性的变革。中国从农村到城市的人口转移,按人口绝对值计算,是人类历史上最大的移民潮之一。中国的城市在未来几年内,必须为数以百万计的移民人口在城市内提供居所。在这个过程中,中国地方政府必须平衡好吸引海外投资,保持城市与国家和全球经济发展接轨,以及为不断兴起的中产阶级提供基础设施和住房的任务。 在人口急剧增长的过程中,如何创造人们真正想要居住和环境可持续发展的空间的问题往往被忽视。该‘生态宜居城市’倡议致力于从政策方面改变这种现状 

中国独特的精英治国模式会要求市长干部每年必须接受培训,干部被提升的时候也会被要求进行培训。这些强制性培训课程涵盖了非常宽泛的主题,从城市规划到马克思主义和毛泽东思想。在中国,市长一级的干部握有很大权利和义务。由中央政府制定的目标和任务下发到市长一级,但是市长们自己必须决定如何执行来实现这些目标。这使得政策可以以城市为规模进行展开,这在世界其他地方是无法想象的。而聚思正是立足于这一独特的位置上,帮助引导这些政策,以打造更佳可持续发展和人性化的城市,并且帮助把城市发展的重心从建设大型地标工程,调整到民生建设。聚思是唯一一家在国家行政学院直接开展课程研发和教学的国际机构, 与此同时聚思亦与其他中国政府部门有着紧密的合作关系。聚思从全世界选取最佳实践案例,并提炼出最适合中国国情和社会结构的方案。目前为止,聚思在这个课题上已经培训了900余名市长,并且希望能进一步扩大培训范围,为中国城市的日益扩张和日渐复杂的社会问题提供更多服务和帮助。

中国不断崛起中的二线城市正面临着与其众多差别不大的城市在吸引投资和名气上的激烈竞争。很多官员认为使城市更具吸引力的关键在于建造地标建筑,比如巨型高楼,大型购物中心和宽阔的高速公路。如何将这些地标建筑融入在城市面貌之中以及如何让居民的城市生活更便捷则是其后才会被想到的内容。‘打造生态宜居城市’项目通过提出围绕人与生态环境为中心的发展战略来挑战这一发展原则。聚思,联实集团以及城市中国研究机构花费了一年时间开发了一套生态宜居城市建设9大原则的框架。

 

  1. 宜居城市新评价指标 New metrics

  2. 城市与自然和谐 Integrating Nature

  3. 集约居住 低碳公交 Transit-Centered Living

  4. 以人为本的街道 Designing for Human Streets

  5. 营造公共社交空间 Shared Spaces

  6. 魅力城市 Distinct Charm

  7. 友好智慧城市 Welcoming City

  8. 参与众包社区 Community Engagement

  9. 区域协同 Regional Cooperation  

中国有许多城市都是在1978年改革开放之后被重建或新建的。即使是对于有成百上千年历史的城市来说,许多传统建筑和地区也被拆除,取而代之的是新的现代化建筑。 在此期间,亦有成千上万的中国人从农村涌向城市,其中有很多人千里迢迢的来到了有着完全不同饮食习惯,语言和习俗的地方。当前中国面临的一个挑战是怎样能打造一个充满活力的本土认同感和当地文化。以此带动一个地区的发展的同时,让其居民同时能有身份认同的归属感。很多城市都试图通过建造大型图书馆,后现代的建筑,和山寨欧洲名城街区来把自己的城市和“文化”挂钩。这些打造高雅文化的尝试忽视了当地居民与居民之间,人与环境之间的互动,以及社区的和睦发展,而这些恰恰是城市文化的基础。在聚思的建设生态宜居城市原则倡议中强调了建立以人为本城市的重要性。对于中国许多新兴城市而言,搞清楚人口来源与需求,以及如何建立具有凝聚力的城市空间是下一个政策挑战。聚思就致力于针对如何促进当地文化和社区认同感开发政策建议,选取国内外最佳实践案例,来为推动真正的本土文化产业提供参考指引。

New Urbanization Council

China has been busy building skyscrapers for showcases, highways for cars, factories for industries. But where is our human city?

About the Program

China's era of rapid urbanisation has left a series of unrelated and unconnected developments. China has been busy building skyscrapers for showcases, highways for cars, factories for industries.  This next era of urbanization requires a broader type of urban planning capability to attract and retain the best talents to our cities.  New Urbanization Council, launched on November 7, 2014 at the Urban China Initiative Summit, with Dr. Wu Zhiqiang of Tongji University, Dr. Yu Kongjian of Turenscape,  David Nieh of Lend Lease, and Peggy Liu of JUCCCE as Co-Chairs. The Council will be conducting a policy recommendation research paper for the highest levels of government along with the China Academy of Governance to create a set of policy recommendations to enable ecolivable cities in China.

 

 

Urbanization is the driver of radical cultural and eocnomic change in China.  China's population is moving to the city in one of the greatest migrations in human history in terms of sheer number.  China's cities in the coming years must create urban spaces for hundreds of millions of migrants.  In this process, Chinese city governments must balance the tasks of inviting in outside investment, connecting their cities to the national and global economy, and creating infrastrutcture and housing to support burgeoning populations.  What often gets left out of this equation in the race to keep up with exploding population growth is creating spaces where people actually want to live and any attention to environmental sustainability.  The Ecolivable Cities Initiative sets out to change this mindset at the policy level. 

China's unique meritocratic government structure requires that mayors receive training annually and whenever they are promoted.  These mandatory training sessions can cover a wide rnage of topics from urban planning to Marxist and Maoist philosophy.  Mayors hold a lot of power and responsibility in China.  Mayors receive mandates passed down from the central government with specific targets or goals, but mayors themselves must decide how to carry out these goals.  This allows for city-scale experimentation in policy unimaginable elsewhere in the world.  JUCCCE is in a unique position to help guide this policy to create more sustainable, humane cities and refocus energies of developing cities away from showcase projects towards their inhabitants.  JUCCCE is the only international organization which has a direct hand in curriculum development and instruction at the Chinese Academy of Governance, and has a strong working relationship with the Chinese government.   JUCCCE is in a position to take best practices from the rest of the world and present them in a way which works within China's unique structure.  JUCCCE has already trained 900 mayors in its courses, and hopes to expand its offerings as China's cities grow more sophisticated and officials must face increasingly complex issues.

China's brugeoning 'second tiers' cities struggle to compete with similar cities for investment and reputation.  Many officials believe the key to making their cities attractive is to create showcase buildings: massive towers, labyrinth shopping malls, and eight-lane highways.  Connecting these spaces to the rest of the city and making the city accessible for its residents are afterthoughts.  The Ecolivable City Initiative challenges this planning principle by offering a human and environment-centered development strategy.  JUCCCE, Lend Lease and the Urban China Initiative spent a year developing a framework of 9 key principles.

1.  New Metrics

2.  Integrating Nature

3. Transit-Centered Living

4.  Designing for Human Streets

5.  Shared Spaces

6.  Distinct Charm

7. Welcoming City

8. Community Engagement

9. Regional Cooperation

Many of China's city have been made anew or founded since 1978.  Even in cities with several centuries of history, traditional buildings and areas have been demolished in favor of new construction.  Millions of Chinese people have poured out of the countryside into the cities, many migrating hundreds of miles to regions with completely different cuisine, languages, and customs.  A challenge facing many Chinese is how to create a vibrant local identity and culture to promote a region while giving its residents an identity to anchor too.  Many cities have sought to create 'culture' through massive museums, postmodern monuments, and outright copies of famous districts of European cities in the hopes of putting themselves on the cultural landscape.  These attempts at creating high culture miss the necessary foundation of culture in the interaction between local people, between people and the environment, and the creation of communities.  Part of the Ecolivable Cities Innitiative is creating cities with people at the heart of design.  For many new Chinese cities, figuring out who these people are, what they need, and how to create spaces which bring them together is the next policy challenge.  JUCCCE is developinga policy recommendation on ways to foster local culture and community identity, taking international best practices from cities around the globe and China to find guidelines for fostering real local cultural production.

New Urbanization Council Members:  

JUCCCE together with TEDxShanghai co-hosted The New Urbanisation Council's first public salon to discuss what really makes a city truly ecolivable: one that is both environmentally sustainable and human centered.