智能电网项目

智能电网在能源部署方面掀起了颠覆性的变革,因为它将电网升级,不仅减少了能源的浪费还使更多的创新能源得以输送。聚思的第一个重大的成就,就是通过开启与国际顶尖专家有关智能电网优势的讨论,以及双赢的合作推动了智能电网最初在中国发展。聚思在中国广泛、积极开展主要设施智能电网的部署决策过程 中,起到了带头的作用。 聚思通过与多个组织机构的合作,推动了国家电网于2009年5月,公布了到2020年智能电网部署的路线图。这项事业的投入已有7.3亿美元。今天,全国 已有15个智能电网示范城市。而今天,全国已有15个智能电网示范城市。

近一个世纪没有改变过的传统电网,被附加互联网通信能力后转化为智能电网, 不但能够在发电、输电、配电以及最终的使用过程中,随时随地的输送传统能源以及新能源,还能将能源输送到电力公司、风能和太阳能农场、工业厂房、公寓、政府大楼、市政设施及电动汽车充电站。

智能电网的优点包括:它可以以需求量为出发点进行管理从而减少能源的使用;降低建设发电厂所需的昂贵成本;减少废气排放;提高应对故障的反应速度;降低劳 动成本;享有将波动能源转化为稳定能源的能力;有效利用以前的能源系统,通过精确的资产监控、优化硬件投资使能源利用最大化。

没有智能电网,可再生能源供应行业将无法扩大规模。
智能电网通信使得能源供应链中所有的利益相关者都能协助控制能源的使用,而不仅仅是电力公司。

美国为什么会从同中国开展智能电网合作中受益?
1、中国执行的规模和速度远远超过美国和欧洲。通过在中国开展试点,新技术可以更快的商业化。
2、假如中国决定采用新的智能电网技术,他们的采购订单将达数百亿美元。这样的经济规模降将会低生产成本、购买成本以及世界各地公用事业的投资风险。仅2007年,中国新电网建设的投入为37亿美元。
3、如果智能电网在中国以其固有的进程得以应用,中国将制定实际的标准。美国和欧洲同中国国家电网的工程师紧密合作联合制定这些标准将极为必要,因为他们的公用事业也可以从同样低成本的硬件中受益。

聚思中国智能电网项目进展
关键日期

●聚思成立于2007年4月,始于由刘佩琪女士促成的麻省理工学院中国未来能源论坛,Steve Papermaster先生作为两个美国政府的与会代表之一出席了会议。这届论坛开启了中美政府官员间有关能源的首次公开对话。 (此前一直是以私下会晤或闭门会议的形式)

中美政府官员一致认为双方应在5个方面开展更多战略性合作:智能电网、建筑、运输、可再生能源和清洁煤。

●国家电力监管委员会、发改委投资司、发改委能源研究所和国网电力科学研究院举行了多次会议。像Steve Papermaster 和 Dian Gruenich(加州公用事业委员会专员)这样的外国专家被引荐给中国。

会议通过各单位的外联部门召开。尽管会议因为出席的高层次外国专家而颇受欢迎,但人们对智能电网概念的初步反应依然是“什么是智能电网?”、“是指电动汽车吗,如果是的话我们不感兴趣,因为那还是10年以后的事”, “我们更感兴趣的是高压输电而不是配电”。

●2007年12月,聚思在麦肯锡公司、Foundation Capital、美国总统科技顾问委员会以及Silver Spring Networks的协助下编写了一篇论文向中国相关的单位介绍什么是智能电网。文章意在突出在中国应用智能电网的好处。

●2008年夏天,杜克能源开始接触聚思,因为我们此前曾在克林顿全球倡议上做出承诺,以及James Fallow 曾在《大西洋月刊》的文章“中国的一线希望”上提及聚思。我们同杜克能源探讨如何减少中国的碳排放并同时使美国受益。因此,杜克能源主席Jim Rogers和聚思主席刘佩琪在2008年纽约克林顿全球倡议上共同承诺开展聚思中国智能电网项目的合作。杜克能源是目前美国最大的公用事业。杜克能源的 团队成员有克林顿全球倡议的重要联络人Hilary Davidson、Neeta Patel(普惠)以及David Mohler(CTO)。

  

照片:[与杜克能源的Jim Rogers在克林顿全球倡议中提出的对于智能电网工作的承诺]

Presenting Smart Grid commitment at Clinton Global Initiative with Jim Rogers of Duke Energy

我们的最终目标是协助中国国家电网建立起对智能电网的兴趣。我们的策略是召集智能电网领域的重要专家举行一系列会议,振奋中国智能电网的关键决策人。

公司/实体或以成员的身份参与合作、或予以实物捐助、或参加包括聚思、杜克能源、Gridpoint、思科、 Current Group、BPL Global、麦肯锡、群硕、LSIS(韩国)、IBM、通用电气、Optimal Technologies、美国总统科技顾问委员会、加州公共事业委员会、劳伦斯伯克利国家实验室、生态投资、KEMA、BC Hydro电力公司、中国绿色技术倡议、美国能源部以及其他机构参与的研讨会。

  •  

  • 2008年10月,在电力行业有着30年经验的ML陈(简历可见于聚思网站)会见了在华盛顿Gridweek上发言的刘佩琪女士。他很快成为了聚思中国智 能电网项目的执行理事。他所供职的Quanta Technologies公司给他予以赞助,他是该公司亚洲开发事务副总裁,并为一些世界顶级公用事业提供智能电网战略咨询。

  • 2008年11月,聚思中国能源论坛在北京举办,智能电网被着重作为一个小组讨论专题。

  • 2008年11月,聚思与国家电网电力科学研究院和国家发改委投资司在北京共同举办了为期一天的研讨会。

 

  • 2009年5月,我们与上海电力和地区国家电网公司商讨在上海举办研讨会,但由于H1N1流感的爆发而未能成事。

  • 2009年5月21日,中国国家电网公司发布了到2020年实施“坚强智能电网”的三阶段路线图。一份记录这段历史的报告将聚思和杜克能源提及为具有影响力的机构。于此,估计有超过7.2亿美元的资金用于投入中国智能电网的发展。
  • 2009年7月,聚思在扬州举办了由市长办公室和经济开发区赞助的百人研讨会。

JUCCCE Smart Grid Forum in Yangzhou with US Dept of Energy

 Executive Director U.S. Dept of Energy in China Martin Schoenbauer, Yangzhou Mayor Wen Dao Cai 闻道才 at JUCCCE Smart Grid Forum

照片:聚思与美国能源部在扬州举办智能电网论坛
美国能源部中国执行理事Martin Schoenbauer和扬州市市长闻道才共同出席聚思智能电网论坛。

  • 010年4月28日,作为聚思智能电网研讨会成果的一个智能电网展示中心在扬州举办了开幕式。 12,000公顷的土地已经预留用于智能电网的演示。聚思成员获得免费的展览场地。包括扬州在内的15个城市被指定为国家智能电网试点。这个展示中心是目 前各代表团智能电网实地考察定点。

 

特别鸣谢:

  • 刘佩琪,聚思联合创始人、现任主席
  • Steve Papermaster,聚思联合创始人
  • ML Chan,聚思中国智能电网项目执行理事
  • Yiwei Chen,聚思中国智能电网项目经理
  • David Mohler,杜克能源
  • Jim Rogers,杜克能源主席、CEO
  • Hilary Davidson,杜克能源
  • 胡学浩,国家电网电力科学研究院高级顾问
  • 刘英武, CEO, 群硕软件
  • Leslie Katz
  • 祝群
  • Gridpoint
  • 思科
  • IBM
  • 埃森哲
  • 通用电气
  • 西门子
  • KEMA
  • 劳伦斯伯克利国家实验室
  • 扬州市政府

Smart Grid (success)

Smart Grid is a game-changer in the energy landscape because it upgrades the electrical grid to waste less energy and allows for more innovative energy to be delivered. JUCCCE’s first major accomplishment was to accelerate the adoption of Smart Grid in China. By convening key players in China along with top international experts to discuss Smart Grid benefits and win-wins from collaboration, JUCCCE played a crucial part in China’s main utility's decision to deploy Smart Grid widely and aggressively. This cooperative catalyzed the creation of a roadmap announced by the State Grid in May 2009 to deploy Smart Grid by 2020. USD 7.3 billion have been dedicated to this effort. Today, there are 15 Smart Grid city pilots across China. 

By overlaying Internet-type communication capabiities on top of a legacy electrical grid that hasn't changed for nearly a century, Smart Grid provides old and new types of energy when and where it is needed. It encompasses power generation, transmission, distribution, and end-use. It reaches power utilities, wind and solar farms, industrial factories, apartments, government buildings, municipalities, and electric vehicle charging stations.


WHY DOES IT BENEFIT THE US TO WORK WITH CHINA ON CHINESE SMART GRID DEVELOPMENT? Smart Grid benefits include reduced energy use through demand-side management, reduced need for expensive buildup of power generation (which is generally coal-based in China), reduced emissions, quicker response to faults (e.g. blackouts), reduced labor costs (e.g. sending out trucks to figure out what line went down in a storm), the ability to take fluctuating energy supply (e.g wind and solar) onto a grid that is used to stabilize supply (e.g. gas and coal), the ability to connect previously disparate energy systems to optimize overall energy use, and the ability to optimize hardware investments through accurate asset monitoring.
Without Smart Grid, the renewable energy supply industry will not be able to grow at scale.

Smart Grid communications allow all stakeholders in the energy supply chain to help control energy use, not just the power utility. 

  1. China implements everything at a much larger scale, and much faster, than the US or Europe. New technologies can be commercialized faster through China pilots.
  2. If China decides to adopt new Smart Grid technologies, they will spend tens of billions of dollars on purchase orders. This economy of scale will bring down production costs, and therefore purchase costs and investment risk to utilities around the world. For context, China spent $37 billion on new power grid construction alone in 2007.
  3. China will set the de facto standards if it implements Smart Grid on a Chinese scale at a Chinese pace. It behooves the US and Europe to work closely with China’s State Grid engineers to jointly define these standards, so that their utilities can benefit from the same low cost hardware.

HISTORY OF JUCCCE CHINA SMART GRID COOPERATIVE 

KEY DATES

  • JUCCCE was founded, in April 2007, out of private and public dialogues produced by Chairperson Peggy Liu at the MIT Forum on the Future of Energy in China; Steve Papermaster was one of the two US government representatives attending. This event was the first public dialogue between US and China government officials on energy (meetings were held privately in closed-door sessions before that time).
    Government officials agreed that the US and China should do more programmatic collaboration and focus on 5 areas: smart grid, buildings, transportation, renewables and cleaner coal.
  • Meetings were held in July 2007 with State Electricity Regulatory Commission (SERC), the Investment Association Committee of the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC IAC), Energy Research Institute of the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC ERI), and Chinese Electricity and Power Research Institute (CEPRI) of the China State Grid. Foreign experts such as Steve Papermaster and Dian Gruenich (commissioner of California Public Utilities Commission) were brought to China.

  

  • Meetings were set up through the foreign relations department of each group. Although the meetings were welcomed because of the high level foreign guests, initial reactions to the Smart Grid concept largely consisted of, “what is Smart Grid?” and “do you mean electric vehicles, because if so, that is 10 years out and we are not interested”, and “we are more interested in high voltage transmission than distribution”.
  • In December 2007, JUCCCE wrote a paper briefing Chinese entities on Smart Grid. Contributors to this paper consisted of McKinsey, Foundation Capital, US PCAST, Silver Spring Networks. This paper was intended to highlight benefits of Smart Grid to the Chinese, within a Chinese context.
  • In summer of 2008, Duke Energy contacted JUCCCE due to our previous commitments at CGI and a “China’s Silver Lining” article by James Fallow in the Atlantic Monthly that mentioned JUCCCE. We explored ways in which Duke Energy could work with JUCCCE to lower carbon emissions in China, and benefit the US at the same time. As a result, Duke Energy's chairman Jim Rogers and JUCCCE Chairperson Peggy Liu announced a joint commitment to form the JUCCCE China Smart Grid Cooperative at the 2008 Clinton Global Initiative in New York City. Duke Energy is now the largest utility in the United States. The team at Duke Energy included Hilary Davidson, key liason to CGI, Neeta Patel (now at Pratt and Whitney), and David Mohler (CTO).

Picture: Presenting Smart Grid commitment at Clinton Global Initiative with Jim Rogers of Duke Energy

Presenting Smart Grid commitment at Clinton Global Initiative with Jim Rogers of Duke Energy

Our end goal was to create a tipping point of interest in Smart Grid at the China State Grid Corp. Our strategy was to convene key experts from across the Smart Grid value chain in a series of meetings, ultimately to create excitement among key Chinese decision makers about Smart Grid.

Companies/entities that participated as members of the Cooperative, donated in-kind support, or attended our workshops included JUCCCE, Duke Energy, Gridpoint, Cisco, Current Group, BPL Global, McKinsey, Augmentum, LSIS (Korea), IBM, GE, Optimal Technologies, US PCAST, CPUC, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, Ecological Investments, Kema, BC Hydro, China Greentech Initiative, US Department of Energy, and others.

  • In October 2008, ML Chan, a 30-year veteran of the power industry (see his bio on the JUCCCE website), met Peggy Liu when she spoke at Gridweek in Washington DC. He soon became the Executive Director of the JUCCCE China Smart Grid Cooperative. His time was sponsored by his employer, Quanta Technologies, where he is a VP of Asia Development and consultant to some of the top utilities in the world on Smart Grid strategy.

  • In November 2008, JUCCCE held the JUCCCE China Energy Forum in Beijing and highlighted Smart Grid in a panel talk.

 

  • JUCCCE was involved in talks with Shanghai Power and the regional State Grid to conduct a workshop in Shanghai in May 2009, but outbreaks of H1N1 flu prevented this event from happening.

  • On May 21, 2009, the China State Grid released a roadmap that stated an intent to implement “Strong Smart Grid” in three stages by 2020. A report documenting the history leading up to this roadmap mentions JUCCCE and Duke Energy as influential parties. As a result, more than $7.2 billion is estimated to be committed to Smart Grid development in China.
  • In July 2009, JUCCCE held a 100-person workshop in Yangzhou sponsored by the Mayor’s office and Economic Development Zone.

JUCCCE Smart Grid Forum in Yangzhou with US Dept of Energy

 Executive Director U.S. Dept of Energy in China Martin Schoenbauer, Yangzhou Mayor Wen Dao Cai 闻道才 at JUCCCE Smart Grid Forum

  • On April 28, 2010, Yangzhou held an opening ceremony for a Smart Grid Exhibition Center which was created as a result of the JUCCCE workshop. 12,000 hectares of land were reserved to create a Smart Grid working demo on this site. Free exhibition space was also designated for JUCCCE members. 15 national Smart Grid pilot cities have been designated, including Yangzhou. This exhibition center is now a regular 'delegation site-visit' destination for China Smart Grid.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

JUCCCE has no active programming at this point. JUCCCE’s main goal of catalyzing a tipping point that would be sustained by industry partners has been fulfilled.

THANKS TO

  • Peggy Liu, co-founder and Chairperson, JUCCCE
  • Steve Papermaster, co-founder, JUCCCE
  • ML Chan, Executive Director, JUCCCE China Smart Grid Cooperative
  • Yiwei Chen, Program Manager, JUCCCE China Smart Grid Cooperative
  • David Mohler, CTO, Duke Energy
  • Jim Rogers, Chairman and CEO, Duke Energy
  • Hilary Davidson, Duke Energy
  • Hu Xuehao, Senior Advisor, CEPRI of State Grid
  • Leonard Liu, CEO, Augmentum
  • Leslie Katz
  • Zhu Qun
  • Gridpoint
  • Cisco
  • IBM
  • Accenture
  • GE
  • Siemens
  • KEMA
  • Lawrence Berkeley National Lab
  • City of Yangzhou
TESTIMONIALS
We need to find ways to get consumers, organizations and governments to work together to solve our energy problems, and JUCCCE will provide the vehicle to make this happen.           

- Richard Branson, Founder of Virgin Group, & JUCCCE Honorary Committee Member -

JUCCCE is impressive. Its talented team focuses on projects that matter, helping tackle China's clean energy challenges at the ground level.

- David Sandalow, Assistant Secretary, US Dept. of Energy -

HOW YOU CAN HELP